Denver Commission on Cultural Affairs

The Denver Commission on Cultural Affairs acts as an advisory board to Denver Arts & Venues' cultural programs Department. The Commission is comprised of dynamic and accomplished Denver leaders in the areas of the arts, business and education, all of whom are appointed by the Mayor. The Commissioners are strong advocates of the arts and culture, and are committed to the mission and goals of Cultural Programs and Denver Arts & Venues. Meetings of the Commission are open to the public. They are held on the first Tuesday of every month at 4:00 p.m. Call 720-865-4314 for details.

Denver Commission on Cultural Affairs is seeking candidates!  

The Denver Commission on Cultural Affairs was established in 1991 to support the Mayor and Denver Arts & Venues whose mission is to enhance Denver’s quality of life and economic vitality through premier public venues, art and entertainment opportunities.

The Commission fills four major roles; overseeing the 1% for public art program process, serving as trustees of Denver’s cultural plan, advising on arts and cultural issues, and acting as ambassadors to the community.

The Denver Commission on Cultural Affairs is specifically looking for individuals with the following backgrounds and experience:
-    Business
-    Urban Design & Planning
-    Philanthropy
-    Board Leadership
-    Strategic Planning and Implementation
-    Marketing & Communication
-    Nonprofit Management

The Commission meets monthly the first Tuesday of each month from 4-6pm at various cultural organizations across the city.

Interested applicants should submit the application, supplemental questionnaire and resume by 5pm, Friday, Aug. 29 to Anthony Aragon, If you have questions, please contact Anthony at 720-865-9032.

Upcoming Monthly Meetings

Tuesday, August 5, 2014
cmDance, 1570 Clarkson Street, Denver, CO 80210


Commission Members

Denis Berckefeldt - Director of Communications and Government/Public Relations with the Denver Auditor’s Office.
Stephanie H. Blake, Ph.D., APR - Owner of Blake Communications, consultant and educator, has over 15 years of experience practicing and teaching strategic communications.
Jayne Buck - Vice President of Tourism for VISIT DENVER, the Convention & Visitors Bureau, since 1999. She is responsible for all leisure marketing efforts for Metro Denver, including international and consumer marketing.
Ann Daley - Curator, Captiva Resources.
Rick Griffith - Rick serves as lecturer and panelist for conferences and presents frequently on either his method for teaching and practicing as a designer/typographer or the model of professional practice, leadership, and constant experimentation of the studio and typography laboratory called MATTER.
Leslie N. Herod - The Gill Foundation.
Claudia Jordan - Denver County Court Judge.
Sarah Kurz - Director of Strategic Marketing for the City and County of Denver. Sarah assists departments, agencies and the mayor's office in promoting the city's services to its residents. She is responsible for managing Denver's brand and maintaining a strong and consistent visual identity for the city.
Mary Louise Lee - First Lady, City & County of Denver.
John Thatcher Montgomery, Jr. - Production Assoc./Tech. Director, Denver OpenMedia.
Yolanda Ortega - Yolanda currently serves as Chair of the Commission. She retired from Metropolitan State College of Denver as Vice President for Student Services.
Chandler Romeo - Artist
Maruca Salazar - Maruca is the current executive director of Museo de las Americas, a 20-year institution that promotes Latino Art from ancient to contemporary.
Gillian Silverman - Gillian is an assistant professor of English and co-director of the Women and Gender Studies Program at the University of Colorado Denver.  Her research and teaching interests include American literature and culture, critical theory and the history of the reading.
Tony Smith - Tony has worked for the Cherry Creek Arts Festival since October 2000 and serves as the Marketing and Operations Director.
Margie Soo Hoo Lee - Architect, Soo Hoo Design Associates.
Rick Tallman - Rick is a veteran entrepreneur, philanthropist and founder of Renova Capital Partners – a private equity group that develops renewable power generation assets.
Bobbi Walker - Bobbi  founded Walker Fine Art in 1999, and opened the gallery space in June of 2002.  She has been actively involved in the arts community in Denver for the last 11 years.
James Wallace - James Wallace is a regionally and nationally acclaimed choreographer, originally from Hutchinson, Kansas and began his training at Friends University.  He was Choreographer in Residence and Artistic Director for David Taylor Dance Theatre, and has created works for American National Ballet, Boulder Ballet, Ballet Nouveau Colorado, and Dawson|Wallace Dance Project where he is currently Artistic Director.
Nancy Walsh - Nancy is Director of Museum Programs for Strategic Partnerships & Programs at the Denver Museum of Nature & Science.